Breaking News
More () »

Portland's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Portland, Oregon | KGW.com

Sabrina Ionescu named co-winner of James E. Sullivan Award

The college basketball star is the first University of Oregon student-athlete to win the award, given every year to the nation's top amateur athlete
Credit: AP
Oregon's Sabrina Ionescu, left, is guarded by Connecticut's Olivia Nelson-Ododa in the second half of an NCAA college basketball game, Monday, Feb. 3, 2020, in Storrs, Conn. (AP Photo/Jessica Hill)

EUGENE, Ore. — Ducks basketball star Sabrina Ionescu was named co-winner of the James E. Sullivan Award as the nation’s top amateur athlete Tuesday.

The first University of Oregon student-athlete to win the award, she shares it with University of Iowa wrestler Spencer Lee.

The Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) announced the co-winners of the 90th annual Sullivan Award Tuesday.

Ionescu is in very distinguished company with this accolade. Previous winners include Peyton Manning (1997), Michelle Kwan (2001), Michael Phelps (2003), Tim Tebow (2007) and Kathryn Plummer (2019).

The No. 1 overall pick in the 2020 WNBA Draft by the New York Liberty, Ionescu picks up this award as she leaves the Ducks behind after a stellar senior season.  She was the unanimous 2019-20 national player of the year for women’s basketball. 

MORE: Sabrina Ionescu makes big moves: No. 1 pick in WNBA Draft, signs with Nike

MORE: Oregon's Sabrina Ionescu first to 2,000 points, 1,000 assists, 1,000 rebounds