Breaking News
More () »

Results for the Oregon primary election May 19, 2020

Find all Oregon primary election results here. Mayor Ted Wheeler is likely headed for a runoff and former mayor Sam Adams has conceded in the city council race.

PORTLAND, Ore. — Oregon’s primary election was Tuesday night. While there were clear winners in some of the statewide races, several of the races affecting Portland government were still unclear Wednesday afternoon.

As of noon Wednesday, more than 1.3 million ballots had been returned, according to the Oregon Secretary of State Elections Division.

Tap here to get results in all races and measures statewide.

Here’s a look at some of the big races across the city, county and state.

Portland Mayor

Portland Mayor Ted Wheeler had a big lead, but it remained unclear Wednesday whether he'd finish with the support needed to win a second term the primary. Wheeler needs to finish with more than 50% of the vote in order to win a second term outright. 

If he doesn't, Wheeler and the candidate who received the second-most votes, Sarah Iannarone, will be in a runoff in the November general election. That option seemed to be the most likely outcome as of Wednesday afternoon.

As of 6 p.m. Wednesday, Wheeler had less than 50% of the vote, at 49.39%, while Iannarone stood at 23.84%.

RELATED: Portland mayor election results: Wheeler with big lead, but November runoff possible

Results in the Portland mayor race

Secretary of State

State senator Mark Hass had been the projected winner of a tightly-contested Democratic primary for Oregon's Secretary of State on Tuesday night, according to The Oregonian. But overnight his lead over civil rights attorney Shemia Fagan dramatically shrank. 

And then by Wednesday evening Fagan took the lead.

As of 6 p.m. Wednesday, the race was too close to call, as Fagan was only ahead by 2,729 votes. That's just over half of a percentage point.

The winner of the race will face Republican state senator Kim Thatcher in November's general election. 

RELATED: Secretary of State race now too close to call

Secretary of State is the second-highest ranking position in Oregon. Republican Dennis Richardson died in office in 2019 after a battle with brain cancer. His replacement, Bev Clarno, agreed not to run for re-election when accepting the interim appointment.

Results in the secretary of state race

Multnomah County District Attorney

Mike Schmidt, the executive director of the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission, is the projected winner of the Multnomah County District Attorney race.

RELATED: Mike Schmidt elected Multnomah County District Attorney

After 30 years in the prosecutor’s office and seven years in the lead role, current district attorney Rod Underhill is stepping down at the end of 2020.

Results in Multnomah County DA race

Portland Commissioner

Carmen Rubio is the projected winner for Commissioner Position No. 1, which was open after Commissioner Amanda Fritz chose not to run for reelection. Rubio the first Latinx candidate elected commissioner in Portland.

RELATED: Carmen Rubio to replace Amanda Fritz on Portland City Council

A special election is being held to fill the late Nick Fish's seat for Commissioner Position No. 2. Fish died in January after a battle with cancer. Early results show a close race with former Multnomah County Commissioner Loretta Smith leading with nearly 19% of the vote, as of noon Wednesday. It appears the top two candidates will be in a runoff later this year.

RELATED: Race to fill Nick Fish’s Portland City Council seat headed to runoff

It was also a tight race for Commissioner Position No. 4, currently held by Chloe Eudaly. Eudaly and community organizer Mingus Mapps on Wednesday appeared to be headed for a runoff election, with 31% and 29% of the vote, respectively. Former mayor Sam Adams, who was a close third with 28%, conceded just after 6 p.m.

RELATED: Eudaly, Mapps appear to be heading to November runoff for Portland City Council seat

Results from the Portland commissioner races

Beaverton Mayor / City Charter

It's projected incumbent Mayor Denny Doyle and challenger Lacey Beaty, a city councilor, will advance to a runoff in the November general election.

Credit: KGW

Voters also addressed the city’s government style in Tuesday’s primary.

It’s projected that Beaverton residents passed Measure 34-298, meaning the city will adopt a new form of government in which a city manager appointed by the city council, not the mayor, will oversee the city’s day-to-day operations, among other changes.

RELATED: Beaverton mayoral race a runoff; city charter will change

Results for Beaverton mayor race and Measure 34-298

Metro Measure 26-210

Portland metro area voters have approved a homeless services tax puts a 1% tax on income over $125,000 a year for individuals and on income over $200,000 a year for couples. Joint filers making $215,000 a year, for example, would be taxed 1% on $15,000, or $150 a year. It also places a separate 1% tax on profits from businesses with gross receipts of more than $5 million. 

Credit: KGW

Metro officials estimate the measure will bring in an annual $250 million to be spent on things like addiction and mental health services, employment support and rent assistance.

RELATED: Tax to fund homeless services in Portland metro area passes

Results for three Portland-area measures on the ballot

Oregon 2nd Congressional District

Former Republican state senator Cliff Bentz is the projected winner in a crowded Republican primary for Oregon's 2nd Congressional District.

RELATED: Cliff Bentz takes Republican primary in Oregon’s second congressional district

Credit: KGW

The Democratic primary was still too close to call Tuesday night.

Oregon’s only Republican in Congress, Rep. Greg Walden, announced plans last October to retire. The 2nd Congressional District covers all of Eastern Oregon and the Medford area. 

Oregon 5th Congressional District

Kurt Schrader, a farmer and retired veterinarian who has represented the district since he was first elected in 2008, has won the Democratic primary. Schrader defeated Milwaukie Mayor Mark Gamba.

RELATED: Incumbent Kurt Schrader wins Oregon's 5th Congressional District

Credit: KGW

He'll face Republican primary winner Amy Ryan Courser in November's general election.

Oregon's fifth Congressional district is one of the most politically and geographically diverse districts in the state, including parts of Portland, Marion and the Oregon Coast. 

Results in all five races for Oregon U.S. representative

More Results: Oregon 2020 primary

RELATED: Pragmatic versus progressive: The battle in Oregon’s fifth district

RELATED: Elections officials scale back staff, push mail-in voting ahead of Oregon's primary

Before You Leave, Check This Out