Breaking News
More (1) »

Portland's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Portland, Oregon | KGW.com

Cowlitz County now eligible to apply for Phase 2 of Washington's reopening plan

Phase 2 allows more outdoor recreation and limited reopening of barbershops and beauty salons and restaurants.

COWLITZ COUNTY, Wash. — State officials announced Thursday that Cowlitz County was eligible to apply to move into Phase 2 of the Gov. Jay Inslee's four-phase reopening plan

The announcement comes two days after neighboring Clark County was given the go-ahead to apply for the second phase. Clark County Public Health told KGW on Tuesday it will prepare an application to enter Phase 2.

To be eligible to apply, counties must have an average of less than 10 new coronavirus cases per 100,000 residents over a 14-day period.

In their applications to move into Phase 2, counties must show they have adequate hospital bed capacity and personal protective equipment (PPE) for health care workers. They must also make testing accessible to everyone in the county with symptoms, have contact tracing plans and be able to house people in quarantine who can’t or won’t do so at home.

The Cowlitz County Board of Health and Board of Commissioners will hold special meetings Friday morning to address the next steps for applying.

The second phase of Washington's reopening plan allows more outdoor recreation, such as camping. Small group gatherings of five people or less are allowed.

Barbershops and salons could reopen along with restaurants, at 50% capacity and tables of five people or fewer. Pet services, including grooming, could resume. Some professional services could resume, although teleworking will still be encouraged.

Limited non-essential travel within the proximity of your home is allowed.

Click here for more Phase 2 details

In addition to Cowlitz and Clark counties, the following Washington counties are also eligible to apply for the second phase of reopening:

  • Adams
  • Clallam
  • Grant
  • Grays Harbor
  • Island
  • Jefferson
  • Kitsap
  • Lewis
  • Mason
  • Pacific
  • San Juan
  • Spokane
  • Thurston

The following Washington counties have already been approved to move into Phase 2:

  • Asotin
  • Columbia
  • Ferry
  • Garfield
  • Lincoln
  • Pend Orielle
  • Skamania
  • Stevens
  • Wahkiakum
  • Whitman

RELATED: Southwest Washington counties Skamania, Wahkiakum can move to second phase of reopening

RELATED: Gov. Inslee approves Clark County to apply for move to Phase 2 of recovery