Breaking News
More () »

Here are the new COVID-19 restrictions starting in Oregon Dec. 3

Counties will have a new set of COVID-19 restrictions from Dec. 3-17, once the two-week statewide freeze comes to an end.

PORTLAND, Ore. — As Oregon’s two-week statewide freeze comes to an end, Gov. Kate Brown on Tuesday announced each county’s COVID-19 risk level, which dictates what restrictions will be in place beginning Thursday.

Under the new framework, which the governor introduced last week, counties will be placed into four categories based on their COVID-19 spread: extreme risk, high risk, moderate risk and lower risk. Each risk category comes with different restrictions, with more limitations for counties in higher risk levels. The new framework comes as COVID-19 cases, hospitalizations and deaths continue to be at record-highs for the state during the pandemic.

Twenty-five of Oregon’s 36 counties fall under the extreme risk category. Here’s the full list of county risk levels.

Extreme risk (25 counties):

  • Baker
  • Clackamas
  • Columbia
  • Crook
  • Deschutes
  • Douglas
  • Grant
  • Hood River
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Josephine
  • Klamath
  • Lake
  • Lane
  • Linn
  • Malheur
  • Marion
  • Morrow
  • Multnomah
  • Polk
  • Umatilla
  • Union
  • Wasco
  • Washington
  • Yamhill

High risk (five counties):

  • Benton
  • Clatsop
  • Coos
  • Curry
  • Lincoln

Moderate risk (two counties):

  • Harney
  • Tillamook

Lower risk (four counties):

  • Gilliam
  • Sherman
  • Wallowa
  • Wheeler
Credit: KGW
COVID-19 spread risk levels in Oregon beginning Dec. 3

Counties will remain at these risk levels from Dec. 3 to Dec. 17. The Oregon Health Authority will reassign county risk levels every two weeks based on the most recent coronavirus data available.

"Counties that are facing extreme risk of virus spread will need to continue with strict health and safety measures, similar to the two-week freeze," Gov. Brown said in a press release.

Here's a look at which metrics determine the risk level for each county:

In counties with extreme risk, the following activities will be allowed, with health and safety protocols in place:

  • Social and at-home gatherings with people from outside your household will be limited to a maximum of six people, with a recommended limit of two households.
  • Restaurants, bars, and other eating and drinking establishments will be limited to a maximum of 50 people for outdoor dining only, with only six people per table. Take-out is strongly encouraged.
  • Indoor recreation, fitness, and entertainment establishments, including gyms, will remain closed, however, outdoor recreation, fitness, and entertainment activities, including outdoor gym activities, will be allowed, with a maximum limit of 50 people outdoors.
  • Retail stores, grocery stores, pharmacies, and indoor and outdoor shopping centers and malls will be limited to a maximum of 50% of capacity, with curbside pick-up encouraged.
  • Faith institutions, funeral homes, mortuaries, and cemeteries will be limited to a maximum of 25% of capacity or 100 people indoors (whichever is smaller), or 150 people outdoors.
  • Office workplaces will be required to utilize remote work to the maximum extent possible, with public-facing offices closed to the public.
  • Personal services businesses will be allowed to continue to operate with health and safety measures in place.
  • Long-term care facilities can allow limited outdoor visitation, following established health and safety protocols.

Here's a look at what activities will be offered under each risk category:

Before You Leave, Check This Out