SALEM -- Oregonians can expect a few changes starting on Jan. 1, 2013, as new laws go into action.

Probably the change that will impact the most people - Oregon's minimum wage will increase by 15 cents to $8.95 an hour. In Washington state, the minimum wage was raised to $9.19 an hour.

More: Minimum wage increase

At Oregon schools, the state will start to require staff members to report acts of bullying and harassment. Schools are also expected to adopt a policy on dating violence among teens.

More: Anti-bullying law for schools

Another big change - all state property and campuses will be tobacco-free starting on Tuesday, Jan. 1.

More: Tobacco-free campuses

In Portland, a bond passed to fund Portland Public School upgrades will add $1.10 in taxes for every thousand dollars in assessed property value for eight years, and then 30 cents per thousand dollars of assessed value for an additional 12 years.

More: Portland school bond

A new tax of $35, once a year will also be billed to anyone over 18 living in Portland in order to fund art and music programs.

More: Portland arts tax

The 2011 Oregon Legislature passed the firewood law and gave ODA regulatory authority. The new rules prohibit firewood from outside the Pacific Northwest unless it has been treated at a temperature of 140 degrees Fahrenheit for one hour to kill all the pests inside it.

More: Oregon firewood law

As of Jan. 1, 2013, wildlife viewers, anglers, walkers and others headed to any of nine ODFW Wildlife Areas will be required to purchase a special parking permit. The permits must be displayed on each vehicles dashboard and they cost $7 for a day pass or $22 for an annual permit. They can be purchased online, through the Oregon Department of fish &Wildlife website.

More: ODFW permit requirements

Read or Share this story: