SALEM, Ore. -- The Oregon Department of Transportation is asking the public to help select names for two new trains that will haul Amtrak passengers between Eugene and Vancouver, Wash.

Currently they're known as ODOT No. 1 and ODOT No. 2.

The Statesman Journal reports they'll follow a tradition of naming Northwest trains after mountain peaks.

The public is encouraged to vote online from among five peaks: Mt. Bachelor, Mt. Jefferson, Mt. McLoughlin, Mt. Scott and Mt. Thielsen.

Of the five trains that currently operate along the Cascades corridor, two are owned by Amtrak and three are owned by the state of Washington. Amtrak's trains are called Mt. Hood and Mt. Olympus; and Washington named its three Mt. Adams, Mt. Baker and Mt. Rainier.

Click here to vote!

Read or Share this story: