'Fatalities within eyesight': OSU basketball team narrowly misses Spain terror attack

OSU basketball team witnesses Barcelona attack

The Oregon State men's basketball team narrowly missed being victims of a terror attack in Barcelona Thursday.

A white van mounted a sidewalk and struck people in Barcelona's Las Ramblas district — a popular tourist spot — causing fatalities. Officials called the incident a terror attack.

According to head coach Wayne Tinkle, the attack happened in front of the hotel where the team was staying. Players and coaches were in the hotel's restaurant having a pre-game meal.

“Literally looking out of our window…some horrific sights. Several fatalities within eyesight of our hotel room,” Tinkle said in a video posted on Twitter.

Watch: Tinkle describes Barcelona attack

Tinkle went on to say everyone associated with the team was safe and accounted for.

The school issued the following statement:

"The Oregon State men's basketball team's traveling party is reported to be safe Thursday following an incident in Barcelona, Spain. The incident occurred near the hotel where the team is staying.

The Beavers are touring Spain through Aug. 25 playing five exhibition games. OSU officials are determining the remaining schedule. Updates on the team's schedule will be provided when available.

The Oregon State University community extends its thoughts and prayers for all those injured and affected by this incident."

School spokesman Steve Clark told the Corvallis Gazette Times that players and the entourage witnessed the attack.

“As a result, members of the team are very saddened and very upset by what has occurred,” he said. “It has affected them in very profound ways.”

The Beavers were scheduled to play five games during the trip (there is a nine-hour time difference from Corvallis to Spain) The Thursday game has been canceled:

  • Thursday, Aug. 17 -- vs. Mataro Parc Boel -- 12:15 p.m. PT (9:15 p.m. CEST)
  • Saturday, Aug. 19 -- vs. Combinado Valenciano -- 8 a.m. PT (5 p.m. CEST)
  • Monday, Aug. 21 -- vs. Multiópticas Baza -- 9:30 a.m. PT (6:30 p.m. CEST)
  • Wednesday, Aug. 23 -- vs. Club Baloncesto Unicaja Malaga -- 10:30 a.m. PT (7:30 p.m. CEST)
  • Friday, Aug. 25 -- vs. CB Benahavis Costa del Sol -- 11 a.m. PT (8 p.m. CEST)

© 2017 KGW-TV


JOIN THE CONVERSATION

To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment